Getting pulled over by a police officer while under the influence and getting charged with a DUI is an intimidating experience. The DUI lawyers at Murphy & Price, LLP can provide assistance during this process.

  1. What Colorado’s Repeat Offender Laws Mean for Your DUI Charge

    Colorado takes DUI offenses very seriously. Even first-time offenders could be facing thousands of dollars in costs, a three-month suspension of their driver's license, an interlock ignition device, and potentially even time in jail. While those penalties are bad enough, they can be even worse for repeat offenders because of Colorado's repeat offender laws. When you end up being charged with a DUI…Read More

  2. What To Do When You Are Pulled Over for a DUI

    Getting pulled over is always stressful. You may not know why the officer has decided to pull you over, and it might come as a shock when they ask you to take a breathalyzer test because they suspect you've been drinking. If you are in this situation, there are a number of things you can do to help yourself before you call our DUI lawyer in Colorado Springs: Be polite. Your stress level will be hi…Read More

  3. The Facts on Marijuana DUIs in Colorado

    Colorado voters passed Amendment 64 in 2013, which made recreational marijuana usage legal in the state starting on January 1st, 2014. The legalization of marijuana has had both it's upsides (tax revenue for education) and downsides (blamed for increases in crime and housing costs). One of the major concerns about legalization was how to prevent drugged driver, or driving while under the influence…Read More

  4. The Long-Term Consequences of a DUI

    Colorado's laws when it comes to a DUI are pretty average for the nation. First-time offenders are more likely looking at a suspended license and $3,000 to $5,000 in court fines, insurance costs, class fees, and vehicle repair costs. What many people caught for a DUI don't consider immediately, though, are the long-term consequences of a DUI on your record. That's where our DUI lawyer in Colorado …Read More

  5. Are Colorado DUI Laws the Toughest in the Country?

    Our DUI lawyer knows that Colorado has some strict laws when it comes to driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. It's no wonder, though, since nearly 10,000 people died in drunk driving accidents in 2014. But how do the laws in Colorado measure up to the rest of the country? It turns out, Colorado is relatively middle-of-the-road when it comes to DUI laws. Nationwide, anything above…Read More

  6. Have a Safe Halloween, Colorado Springs

    Happy Halloween, Colorado Springs! While we want all of your little kiddos to be safe while trick or treating, this post is geared toward the 21 and uppers who will be celebrating Halloween this evening. Will you be crawling the local bars or breweries tonight or heading to a wild house party? Keep the following tips in mind to have a safe, fun, and law enforcement-free night… unless, of course,…Read More

  7. CO DUI/DWAI With a Child in the Vehicle

    With DUI and DWAI arrests approximating 30,000 each year in Colorado, many drivers have sought out information regarding what to expect from and how to respond to a possible DUI or DWAI charge, but the amount of alcohol consumed is not the only factor to consider. What happens, for instance, if you are arrested for a DUI or a DWAI while your child is with you in the vehicle? Defining Child Abuse i…Read More

  8. Parked Car DUI’S in Colorado

    Can I be charged with a DUI in Colorado even if I’m not driving? If you spend any extended amount of time in Colorado and the topic of DUI charges comes up in conversation, you will eventually hear about the famed Colorado Supreme Court case, People v. Swain, a late ‘90s case in which Robert Swain was found guilty of driving while ability impaired after being found sleeping it off in his vehic…Read More

  9. Penalties for a DUI Charge

    You’ve been charged with a DUI, what now? After your DUI attorney has done their best to absolve you of any charges, what are the consequences? In Colorado a first DUI offense results in both criminal charges and administrative penalties. Call the DUI attorneys at Murphy & Price to learn about your options. Administrative Penalties A first offense results in 3 months suspension of your drive…Read More

  10. Hiring a DUI Lawyer vs. Self Representation

    When you’re arrested for a DUI, it might seem logical to represent yourself in a trial in order to save money, but it’s important to know the benefits of having a DUI attorney and the potential problems that can occur when you do not. In order to protect yourself against fines, jail time, and possibly a criminal record, call the law firm of Murphy & Price; we are here for you through any s…Read More